Griffith junior cricket report


Watson and Warner played out a real nail biter with only three runs separating the two teams.   Watson just got across the line with a score of 5/56 as opposed to Warner 5/53. Daniel Mitchell (27) continued his impressive run of form for Watson. James McCloskey (16) helped the score along and Esha Gullipali made 15. Ted Files was the pick of the Warner bowlers, capturing two wickets. Ted (16) also top scored for Warner and Jai Kenny made 13. Reif Leach was Watsons major wicket taker with two.

WICKET TAKER: Ted Files was the pick of the Watson bowlers as he took two wickets in his side's narrow win over Warner in Junior Binks/Tucker. PHOTO: Anthony Stipo

WICKET TAKER: Ted Files was the pick of the Watson bowlers as he took two wickets in his side's narrow win over Warner in Junior Binks/Tucker. PHOTO: Anthony Stipo

Only four runs separated Smith and Lyon in another closely fought contest. Smith compiled 8/116 which only just exceeded Lyon’s 8/112. Charlie Serafin top scored for Smith with 22 runs and a useful contribution came from Owen Robinson, 20 and Christian Dall’Est 20. Connor Moore was the pick of the Lyon bowlers, picking up two wickets. Nate Sergi (19) played a punishing innings  for Lyon and he was well supported by Connor Moore (27). Ajay Chilby was Smith’s most successful bowler, snaring two wickets.

Clarke recorded a big win over Johnson. Their batsmen led the way with an impressive score of 5/98 which included runs from Jaiden Morrell (20), Jaxsin Brown (18) and Caelan Culgan (14). Ben Virago, Ryan Andrighetto and Jim Prendergast were Johnson’s wicket takers. Johnson’s batting line-up struggled to 9/60 in reply with Harry Marcus (21) again a dominant force. Jaxsin Brown led the bowling attack capturing three wickets.

This week’s award goes to Jaxsin Brown for his 18 runs and three wickets for Clarke. This Saturday’s round of matches will be held on Saturday evening commencing at 7pm at Exies No 1 oval. This includes the Milo Cricketers.


Batsmen struggled in the game played between Healy and Wade.   Wade made 7/48 (ave 6.8) but were able to record a win when Healy slipped to 10/65 (ave 6.5).   Liam James, Patrick Mickan and Jordan Virago all made 12 runs for Healy. Brandon Williams (3/7) excelled with the ball,  Jack Furner (2/11) also bowled well. Jack Furner and Luke Wood both made seven runs for Wade. Patrick Mickan (4/7) really made them work for their runs.

Siddle produced a good performance to overcome Maxwell. Siddle’s score of 5/108 included a massive 40 runs from Luke Cannon.  Nick McGibbon (2/9) bowled a tight spell for Maxwell.   Maxwell’s batsmen could only muster 9/69. Nick McGibbon (17) led the way and Seamus Malley made 16. Luca Valensisi (3/7) and Chastity Cooper (3/15) did most of the damage for Siddle.

Marsh pulled off a good win over Starc when they knocked up 8/90 and restricted Starc to 11/81. Alex Minato played a valuable innings of 22 for Marsh. Kieran Casey added 14 and Blake Romeo 13. Noah Kirkman with 2/6 and Bede Kenny 2/13 were the most successful of Starc’s bowlers. Cooper Rand (24) again proved to be the backbone of Starc’s batting, Noah Kirkman helped himself to 13 runs and Bede Kenny made 12. George Jones (3/2) bowled a good spell for Marsh. Meli Ranitu, Kieran Casey and Alex Minato all captured two wickets for Starc.

In the closest game of the round, Faulkner 11/112 (ave 10.1) was just too much for Finch who made 6/55 (ave 9.1). Rylan Mecham belted 36 runs for Faulkner, Tom D’Aquino added 21 and Will Vaessen 16. Tucker Collins (3/18), Jock Emery (3/22), Lachlan Emery (2/29) and Matthew Adams (2/8) all bowled well for Finch. Matthew Adams (12) was the only Finch batsman to reach double figures. Starc’s main bowlers were Jacob Serafin (2/10) and Rylan Mecham (2/3).

This week’s award goes to Patrick Mickan who led the Healy bowling attack with 4/7 and scored 12 runs. The last round will be held this Saturday at the usual time.