Griffith claim O'Farrell Cup with two-wicket win over Cootamundra

NEW HOLDERS: Griffith's representative team celebrate their O'Farrell Cup victory over Cootamundra at Albert Park on Sunday. Picture: Kelly Manwaring
NEW HOLDERS: Griffith's representative team celebrate their O'Farrell Cup victory over Cootamundra at Albert Park on Sunday. Picture: Kelly Manwaring

Griffith is the new home of the O’Farrell Cup after they upstaged Cootamundra by two wickets at Albert Park on Sunday.

The O’Farrell Cup found it’s way to a third home in as many matches after Cootamundra’s reign was ended by a determined Griffith team.

Cootamundra were bowled out for 167 in scorching conditions, before the visitors chased down the total with seven overs and two wickets to spare.

An unbeaten partnership between Lucas Conlan (31 not out) and Charlie Cunial (28 not out) proved match-winning as they put on 47 for the ninth wicket and guided Griffith to victory.

Griffith captain Marc Tucker was quick to turn the focus to next week against Young.

“It’s good to win it back but they always say the hardest thing is retaining it for the first couple of weeks after so we’re really focused on next week,” Tucker said.

“We’ve enjoyed the celebrations the last couple of times, got carried away and then lost it the week after.”

Cootamundra won the toss and batted. Luke Berkrey was the star for the home team with 56, while opening batsman Adam Twyford (40) and tailender John Stephens (24) both made valuable contributions at either end of the innings.

Matt Peruzzi (4-22) and Tucker (3-30) were the chief destroyers for Griffith.

In reply, Griffith got off to a solid start at 2-66 before a middle order collapse saw the visitors lose 5-12 and in trouble at 7-78.

Tucker steadied the ship with 28, before Cunial and Conlan guided Griffith home.

Dave Garness was the pick of Cootamundra’s bowlers, claiming 4-56 off 12 overs.

Cootamundra captain Dean Bradley paid tribute to Griffith.

“Full credit to them,” Bradley said.

“Those two at the end batted very well. They batted smart and they handled everything we threw at them.

“The wicket was very good and with a quick outfield we were probably 30 runs short. 200 was about par.”

Tucker also paid tribute to Conlan and Cunial.

“Those two won it for us,” Tucker said.

“They put on 60-odd down the bottom of the list and brought home the bacon.”

Griffith’s win came almost 12 months to the day since they last captured the O’Farrell Cup.

Last year, they defeated Leeton and then lost the Cup to Young the following week.

O’Farrell Cup


At Albert Park, Cootamundra

Toss won by Cootamundra

Cootamundra innings

A TWYFORD b Cunial 40

B GALE c Peruzzi b Cunial 3

J PURTELL c Winkler b Peruzzi 15

M BERKREY b Peruzzi 0

L BERKREY c W Kennedy b Winkler 56

R CONNELL b Tucker 10

M ELIA c Conlan b Tucker 0

J PEARSON c Brown b Tucker 2

J STEPHENS c Brown b Peruzzi 24

D GARNESS b Peruzzi 6

T GRACE not out 2

Sundries (3lb, 5w, 1nb) 9

Total: 167

Fall: 9, 42, 42, 91, 129, 129, 133, 134, 162, 167

Bowling: M Tucker 10-1-30-3, C Cunial 11-1-27-2, J Winkler 12-2-38-1, M Peruzzi 7.2-0-22-4, D Brown 4-1-12-0, R Singh 2-0-15-0, A Kennedy 4-0-20-0

Griffith innings

W KENNEDY c Pearson b Stephens 24

A POTTER c Elia b Garness 12

P BURGE b Garness 2

J BINKS c Grace b L Berkrey 27

J WINKLER c Gale b Garness 0

D BROWN c Gale b Stephens 2

M TUCKER c Bradley b Pearson 28

M PERUZZI b Garness 6

L CONLAN not out 31

C CUNIAL not out 28

Sundries (4b, 1lb, 2w, 1nb)

Total: eight for 168

Fall: 18, 26, 66, 66, 66, 71, 78, 121

Bowling: D Bradley 6-1-13-0, D Garness 12-0-56-4, J Purtell 8-1-19-0, J Stephens 9-2-26-2, L Berkrey 7-1-27-1, A Twyford 1-0-5-0, J Pearson 4-1-15-1, M Berkrey 1.5-1-2-0

Griffith won by two wickets


Discuss "Griffith claim O’Farrell Cup with win over Cootamundra | Photos"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.