Binks/Tucker junior cricket report | SPORT

Binks/Tucker junior cricket

THERE was excitement in the air when the last round of matches were played under lights at the Exies number one oval on Saturday night.

It brought out the best in the fast improving Clarke team who hit up a formidable 3/147 in answer to Lyon’s 6/57.Clarke’s run machines, Jai Kenny, 29, Cooper Rand, 26 and Bede Kenny, 24 again dominated. Toby Vian bowled well for Lyon to capture two wickets. John Favero top scored for Lyon with 14 runs and Caelan Culgan made nine. Cooper Rand and MacKenzie Hassan picked up two wickets each for Clarke.

Cummins had a tight battle with Watson before prevailing with  /92 (ave 13.1) to 10/94 (ave 9.4). Nick McGibbon led with 23 runs for Cummins, assisted by Tomas Goirigolzarri with 17 and Luke Wood with 16. Meli Ranitu and Daniel Bourke both snapped up two wickets for Watson. Meli also led the run chase for Watson with 21. Keiran Casey added a useful 17. Nick McGibbon was Cummins’ star bowler picking up three wickets. Charlie Toohey and Javier Torresan both helped out with two.

Smith also had a close tussle with Starc. Smith’s score of 6/116 was enough to get them over the line against Lyon’s 6/99. Jordan Virago was in top form with his innings of 26, backed up by Liam James’ 21. Jackson Ross and Nick Piper were Starc’s most successful bowlers with two wickets each. Starc’s top batsman was Matt Devery who knocked up 26. Tyler Gatto did well to make 19 and Harry Morshead added 15. Liam James and Digby Jones were Smith’s top bowlers taking two wickets each.

Warner’s score of 7/123 was a bit beyond Johnson who lost 11 wickets in making 95. Warner’s main runscorers were Ajay Chilby, 28, Owen Robinson, 26, Josh Serafin, 23, and Jacob Serafin 20. Kadon Williams and Seamus Mailey picked up two wickets each for Johnson. Johnson’s batting relied on good contributions from Jordan Williams who made 17 and Reif Leach 15. Owen Robinson bagged three wickets and Josh Serafin chipped in with two.

Cricketer of the round is Josh Serafin for his 23 and two wickets for Warner.